pink cake pops

Let’s Learn How To Make Cake Pops!

Kitchen time, Let's Learn How To Make Cake Pops

Let me clear something important first ๐Ÿ™‚ This is not a recipe or instructions how to make cake pops. This is just a post about my decision to learn how to make cake pops and my first steps. Through time, I will post some more photos, and hopefully become better and better, until I’m able to do something like this:

cake pops

or this

cake pops pink

But in the end, I got this:

IMG_7313

For my first try, I think I did pretty okay, even though it reminded me a bit on Pinterest fails from time to time ๐Ÿ˜€ The pink frosting turned into bubble gum at the moment it touched the dough.Consequently, few of them fall apart and I had to throw them away. The melted chocolate was easier to handle, but I just couldn’t find the right technique to coverย them all over. And not to mention the sticks that had pierced through some of them (fortunately I have later been told how to prevent that and I’m not repeating the same mistake again).

IMG_7312

Instead of the usual cake crumbles, I used three muffins from my muffin recipe I posted not long ago. For the frosting, I used this recipe (I used a smaller amount of the ingredients for those three muffins of course :)) Oh yeah, these are vegan, too ๐Ÿ˜€ And for decorations, I used melted dark chocolate, chopped almonds and pink punch frosting. The taste was, I have to say, really really good, but the looks were far from what I’ve imagined.

IMG_7310

Here’s what I’ve learned:
– NEVER use a really sticky frosting (at least not when you are still learningย how to make them and never dip them in such frosting)
– use some melted chocolate to position the sticks first
– keep them in the fridge longer than you think it’s necessary

vegan cake pops

And here is where I need help from you, my dear readers ๐Ÿ™‚ I need some TESTED piece of advice how to make the best tasting and looking cake pops. Would you please help me with some of your experiences? Maybe you would like to share some of your cake pops fails (this is a safe space :))? Hopefully, I’m back soon with some even tastier and better looking cake pops ๐Ÿ˜€

our-growing-edge-badge

This post is part of the monthly link up party Our Growing Edge. This event aims to connect food bloggers and inspire us to try new things. This month is hosted by Kerene fromย The Dream Baker.

Je t’embrasse,

Pia

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

  1. http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Guardian/Pix/pictures/2012/2/10/1328891142061/Cake-pops-007.jpg
  2. http://www.giallozafferano.it/images/ricette/15/1569/foto_hd/hd650x433_wm.jpg
8 thoughts on “Let’s Learn How To Make Cake Pops!

  1. I’ve just hopped over from Kerene’s round-up from The Growing Edge and have to say how amazing these look! They look so pretty – I actually really like the fact they’re not covered all the way around and you get to see the vibrant pink ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

