Grains and vegetables

Eat your grains

Kitchen time

Grains and vegetables

Not long ago, I bought a box of “Three grains”. It’s a mixture of spelt, barley and rice and it’s one of the most interesting and practical foods I’ve bought recently. If I would buy them separately, I’m 100 % that at least one of the grains would go bad. I tend to forget about food in my kitchen a lot. 🙂 But with all of them in one box, the possibility or forgetting is smaller.

Did I mention I really really disliked barley when I was a kid? My grandma often maked barley soup and (even though she is a great cook) I just couldn’t eat more than one or two spoons. And I never ate barley when I got older, until now. It was surprisingly good so I think I have to stop discriminating some foods. I was surprised when I found it on a list of grains you’ve never heard of, as barley soup is one of the usual foods around here. But still, no matter how healthy it is, I’m really not a fan of the soup version. On the other hand, this side dish thing is amazing.

tofu, vegetables and grains

The benefits? Barley is high in fiber (almost a quarter of the daily recommended value in one cup of the pearled stuff), it may help prevent some chronic diseases and lower cholesterol (1). Spelt is higher in protein than common wheat. It is an excellent source of manganese, and a good source of protein, copper, and zinc. It is high in fiber, and contain notably more protein than wheat. Spelt is also higher in B complex vitamins, and both simple and complex carbohydrates (2). The health benefits of rice include its ability to provide fast and instant energy, regulate and improve bowel movements, stabilize blood sugar levels, and slow down the aging process, while also providing an essential source of vitamin B1 to the human body. (3)

You’ll need:
1 cup of barley, rice and spelt (in similar amounts)

1 red bell pepper
1 yellow bell pepper
1 green bell pepper
1/2 cup of cherry tomatoes
Chopped sun dried tomatoes
Tofu (preferably with chilli or pepper)

Chop vegetables, cut tofu into small pieces and cook them in a pan (10-15 minutes). Prepare grains according to the instructions and then enjoy your (quick) meal :). Perfect after a busy day at work, when you don’t want to spend an hour making your dinner. And you are hungry, very hungry.

Je t’embrasse,

Pia

wpid-2015-05-22-09.22.55-1.jpg.jpeg

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

1. http://greatist.com/health/17-healthy-grains-you%E2%80%99ve-never-heard
2. http://www.treehugger.com/easy-vegetarian-recipes/12-whole-grains-try.html
3. https://www.organicfacts.net/health-benefits/cereal/health-benefits-of-rice.html

8 thoughts on “Eat your grains

      1. Hi, was going through your blog and juz loved Crazy for Cinnamon Rolls.
        How was your weekend? Did you prepare anything new?

        Like

        1. Oh, those cinnamon rolls, I have to make them again! This week I made miniature versions of them! My weekend was great, filled with birthdays actually, so for a change, I wasn’t the one baking 😀 How was your weekend?

          Like

  1. I’ve never tried spelt, but I grew up with rice (comfort food) and love barley. I don’t cook barley that often but I was always under the impression it took a long time too cook, much longer than rice. How does that work with timings when you’re cooking a grain mix?

    Like

    1. I was also surprised when I tried the mix, because I thought I would overcook some grains and ate others half raw 🙂 But everything was great, so I think the secret isin finding the right kind. I have a few different types of rice in my kitchen and each one has a different cooking time – some types are ready in 10 minutes, others in 50 ( so I usually choose the type according to hunger:)). I will try to experiment with some more grains in the future and I’ll let you know how the combinations work 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

