raw cake

Very Chocolate, Very Berry, Very Raw Cake

Kitchen time

wild berries and chocolate

Mum celebrated her birthday this week and luckily, the cake was prepared before I had my wisdom teeth pulled out. So this was one good good sweet before I went on an short (soy ice-cream) diet for a few days. We hadn’t made this cake in quite a while and I have no idea why not. Oh wait I do know. It’s not so easy to make if you don’t have a good blender. Which we don’t and we always spend a lot of time trying to properly mix the ingredients. If the technology is your friend, then you are good.

chocolate cake

We found the recipe on this siteΒ (only in Slovenian, but I’ll translate my version to English), when we were just starting with raw desserts and it’s still one of our favorite ones. Especially in the summer, when raw desserts take over :).

Base:
2 cups of chopped almonds and hazelnuts
1 1/2 cup of previously soaked dates
1/2 cup of raw unsweetened cocoa
2 tbsp of melted coconut butter + 2 tbsp of water

Fruit filling:
forest berries – lots of themΒ 

Chocolate mousse:
2 cups of dates
1 1/2 cups of water (you may need a bit more)
1/2 cup of raw unsweetened cocoa
1/2 cup of melted coconut butter

raw cakeFirst, you gradually mix the ingredients for the base and spread the mixture across the tray. Cover it with lots of fruit. Then you mix together the ingredients for chocolate mousse, pour it into the tray and…there it is :).

Je t’embrasse,

Pia

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

a piece of raw cake

18 thoughts on “Very Chocolate, Very Berry, Very Raw Cake

      1. Definitely the possibilities and varieties are endless and taste enhances when you exchange ideas. Was going through you blog and juz loved Banana Bread for Chocolate Lovers.

        Like

  1. This looks delicious! I haven’t ventured into mousse yet but this makes me tempted to give it a go. I’ll be following you on bloglovin. I have a linky party for vegan and vegetarian recipes on my blog if you feel like sharing this or any of your other tasty recipes with some other bloggers.

    Like

    1. Thank you! I checked out your blog, that Veggie Wednesday Linky Party sounds great! I’ll definitely join with some recipes, I have some (hopefully delicious) ideas in my mind for this week. πŸ™‚ And your beautiful blog just got one more bloglovin follower πŸ˜‰

      Like

  2. Your cake sounds amazing! I’ve never made a raw cake before and I’m very excited to make it πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

