vegan chocolate pretzels

Secret Ingredient Pretzels

Kitchen time

vegan pretzels

Pia’s bakery is back in business, taking care of her best customers: her family, boyfriend and friends. Who ever gets to the kitchen first. 🙂 I baked these pretzels for a road trip but … Well there were no more left when we got in the car. I think that self control isn’t possible when the kitchen smells of fresh baked goodies.

vegan filled pretzels

Fresh baked goodies filled with chocolate and marmalade. And cinnamon, too! I was never a fan of the usual pretzels, covered with salt. Last December, I visited Vienna and its Christmas fairs. There I tried pretzels with chocolate and vanilla pudding inside. Come on! Chocolate and vanilla pudding! Hard to get better than that! I wanted to make something similar at home, but in a smaller version (those pretzels were family size) and less messy to eat, as the ones there were just sliced in half and filled with cream, and no matter how careful you were, you just couldn’t eat it and stay clean.

cinnamon pretzels

So I thought of a more croissant-y version, with the filling rolled into a dough, making it easier and less embarrassing to eat. In a smaller, snack or breakfast version (the one in Vienna coincidentally became the main meal).

1 1/2 cup of spelt flour
2 tsp of active dry yeast
5 tsp of sugar
1 tsp of salt
1/2 cup of margarine
1/2 cup of rice milk

vegan chocolate pretzels

I used a similar recipe to the one I used in my Vegan Surprise Croissants, I just didn’t left the dough in a fridge overnight and I skipped the last step when you leave the croissants on a tray for an hour or two. Mostly because I didn’t have enough time but the result was as yummy as always. Instead of triangles make rectangles, cover the dough with chocolate, cinnamon, madmelade … Roll each rectangle and shape it like a pretzel. Bake for half an hour at 175°C.

Did you ever tried combining two desserts or pastries in one? What was the result?

Je t’embrasse,

Pia

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Link up your recipe of the week
10 thoughts on “Secret Ingredient Pretzels

Leave a Reply

