mini cinnamon rolls

Crazy for Cinnamon Rolls

Kitchen time

wpid-2015-04-24-11.50.11-1.jpg.jpeg

Lately, I switched from buying pastry, croissants and other breakfast food at bakery to making most of them myself. I’ve always baked a lot, but there was something about going to the bakery around the corner and buying a chocolate roll or something like that. The place smelled delicious and you didn’t have to put any effort in making the pastry, which can be great sometimes.

vegan mini cinnamon rolls

I was never one of those superwomen who could bake something at 11 p.m., so there would be fresh breakfast on the table in the morning. I admired them, but my busy student life reserved evenings for late night studying, dance classes and partying. But when I moved back to my hometown for a few months I realized something awful … There were no bakeries around! While I was living in the capital, there were seven, not kidding, seven bakeries in a five minute radius. And that’s without the stores that also sold the delicious treats. And now? Well, there’s one bakery, but it’s half an hour walk away, and it’s not even that good. So the only solution for a fresh croissant or roll in the morning was to bake them.

cinnamon rolls

And after croissants, I just had to make cinnamon rolls. You all probably know them. One of that rare pastries that everybody, and I mean EVERYBODY, loves. Therefore, my standards were high when I decided to bake them. And of course they had to be vegan. What a challenge! Luckily, the internet is filled with recipes, just waiting to be tested! This time I wasn’t prepared to make something up, I didn’t even know if I should use yeast or baking powder! All in all, clueless. I found this amazing recipe and bake mini versions of cinnamon rolls. Which consequently meant that nobody could take just one. And they were REALLY GOOD.

cinnamon rolls before baking

For the dough, I used:
3 1/2 cup of spelt flour
1 packet of vanilla sugar (approximately 2 tbsp)
1 tsp of yeast
1/3 cup of margarine pieces
1 cup of rice milk

And for the fill:
1/4 cup of raw brown sugar
LOTS of cinnamon
1/4 cup of melted margarine

You just HAVE to test this, maybe it will make Monday and the start of the week a bit easier 🙂

Je t’embrasse,

Pia

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

4 thoughts on “Crazy for Cinnamon Rolls

Leave a Reply

