Chocolate banana bread

Banana Bread for Chocolate Lovers

Kitchen time

image

When I was younger I hated bananas. The smell, the taste, the fast that everybody loved them … Everything! I know hate is a strong word but I really really didn’t like them. Not even the chocolate covered ones or banana split! Even though bananas are still not one one of my favourite fruits, I must say they are delicious when it comes to desserts. So it seemed like it was time to finally try to bake banana bread. Easy job, right?

image

Not so simple :). As you all probably know, I never have every ingredient in my kitchen that I would need for the recipes I look up, and I always end up making something I made up. Sometimes it’s great, sometimes not so great. Luckily, this one fell into the first category, even though I kept looking into the oven if the thing would bake properly! From omnivores and sugar addicts, to vegetarians and vegans, everybody was impressed. After some more vegetable-colored breads, like zucchini loaf and carrot cake, there was time for fruity stuff.

image


You’ll need:

2 cups of spelt flour
1 tsp of baking powder
1 tsp of baking soda
1/3 cup of cocoa
1 tsp of cinnamon

3 mashed bananas
2/3 cup of margarine
3/4 cup of raw brown sugar
1 tbsp of vanilla sugar
1/3 cup of rice milk

1/2 cup of chopped dark chocolate
Chopped almonds

image

Stir the first pile of ingredients together and then mix the second one for 2-3 minutes. Combine everything together, add dark chocolate and after spilling the mixture into the baking tray, sprinkle some chopped almonds on top. Bake for 1 hour at 175°C. Just to warn you, mixture will be very, very thick and the loaf almost doubles it’s size in the oven.

ikea silicone tray pattern

For the end, I just had to show you the pattern. I bought this silicon tray from Ikea and it makes the prettiest pattern on bread!

Je t’embrasse,

Pia

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Link up your recipe of the week

vegan chocolate banana bread

5 thoughts on “Banana Bread for Chocolate Lovers

Leave a Reply

