Vegan Nutty Brownies

Kitchen time, Uncategorized

vegan brownie and tea

For the first time in my life, I am spending Easter as a 100% vegan. I’ve entered one month vegan challenge, so I’m spending this April without my guilty pleasure, cheese. Even though I’ve been experimenting with vegan food for quite some time, I’ve never been able to make the switch for even a week. After five days, I am still alive and haven’t accidentally taken any cheese from the table…not even once! Just 25 more days to go, or maybe even more if I decide I like this cheese-free world too much.

vegan brownie

As you all probably know, it is Easter, so this year the festive lunch and breakfast looked a bit different. My grandma even made vegan potica! For those who are not from Slovenia and aren’t familiar with the delicious ”potica”, it’s a traditional Slovenian pastry, eaten on holidays like Christmas and Easter. The best way to explain it: dough, filled with walnut, hazelnut, even chocolate cream, rolled together and usually baked in a special tray. But I think a picture will to a better job.

Well, the potica recipe is coming to the blog in the next few days, but this post will talk about my contribution to the festive table. EVERYBODY was skeptical when I said I’ll make brownies with silken tofu. In the end, everybody LOVED them. I think tofu is that kind of food you either love of hate. The second one is more common, but I think I changed some opinions, at least when it comes to tofu in desserts. More important: it satisfies any chocolate craving, no matter how strong.

vegan nutty brownie

You’ll need:

2/3 cup of white wheat flour cup of oat flour
1 tsp of baking powder
1 cup of raw brown sugar
1 tbsp of vanilla sugar of vanilla essence
1/4 cup cacao

1/2 cup of margarine
2/3 cup of rice milk
1 tbsp of peanut butter
2/3 cup of silken tofu
1/3 cup of agave or maple syrup

chopped dark chocolate
almonds

brownie

Stir the first part of the ingredients together. Put the second part of ingredients in a blender, and blend until the ingredients combine. Then stir everything together and add chocolate and almonds. Bake for 30-40 minutes at 175°C. Wait for the brownies to cool and serve. Believe me, they won’t last more than a day or two, as it is impossible to take just one piece. Well, at least for me.

wpid-2015-04-05-09.11.14-5.jpg.jpeg

Happy Easter holidays everyone!

Je t’embrasse,

Pia

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Link up your recipe of the week
One thought on “Vegan Nutty Brownies

Leave a Reply

