Vegan Double Chocolate Carrot Muffins

Kitchen time, Uncategorized

 

carrot chocolate cupcake and cream

The holiday craziness has finished. There was a lot of love, hugs, laughter, snow, sunshine and of course, food comas. Consequently, I didn’t have any time to write, let alone bake, so this year sandwich cookies were the top dessert after New Year’s dinner. AndΒ now life continues as it did before. We’re all writing down New Year’s resolutions, thinking how we can make 2015 the best year. We’ll all be slimmer, healthier, smarter and stronger by the time 2015 finishes! Well, the reality is quite different and as we all know, we stick to these resolutions for the first two weeks and then quickly forget about them.

muffin and cream

But why do we have to set a date? What is the difference if you stop smoking on the first day of this year or if you decide you should do that in the middle of April. Are you more motivated, confident? I have to say I made some resolutions this year. I make them every year. But I never think I will stick to them 100%. They actually aren’t real resolutions, they seem more like ideas about what I want form 2015. So there are no: ”I’ll lose 5 kilograms till next year” or ”I’ll go running every morning”, my resolutions look more like these: ”I’ll travel to a country I have never visited”, ”I’ll learn something new”. They are more likeΒ a frame in which I paint what I want. This way, I can always complete resolutions and remember each year as a successful,great, beautiful year. And to start 2015 in a delicious way, I bakes some carrot muffins πŸ™‚

chocolate carrot muffins

For 10-12 muffins, you’ll need:

1 cup of wholewheat spelt flour
1 1/2 cup of spelt flour (I used type 850)
1/2 cup of ground almonds
2 tbsp of baking powder
2 tsp of unsweetened cocoa
A bit of cinnamon, allspice and nutmeg

3/4 cup of raw organic sugar (or molasses)
1 tsp of vanilla sugar of vanilla essence
1/2 cup of agave syrup
1 cup of coconut milk
1/2 cup of melted coconut butter
2 flax eggs

2 cups of shredded carrots (approximately 2 medium-size carrots)

Chopped dark chocolate and hazelnuts for topping

Coconut cream
1 tsp of vanilla sugar

carrot muffin and cream

Mix the first and the second group of ingredients separately. Then thoroughly stir both together and add carrots. Fill the muffin cups so you cover the bottom and add a piece of chocolate on the middle (best surprise to get in a muffin :)). Then fill the muffin models almost to the top. Sprinkle chopped hazelnuts and dark chocolate on the top. Bake for 30-40 minutes at 175Β°C. For the finishing touch, you can also add cream to the top, at least that is what my sweet-tooth family wanted πŸ™‚

carrot cupcake

Je t’embrasse,

Pia

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Link up your recipe of the week
8 thoughts on “Vegan Double Chocolate Carrot Muffins

  1. So pretty! The idea of using coconut butter in the batter is awesome – I bet they taste super rich and creamy that way.
    I agree on resolutions. That’s also why I don’t quite get the whole fussing about New Year’s Eve. It’s just the start to another month and doesn’t hold any special values to me. If I want to make changes and improve my life I can decide to start any day. (;

    Like

    1. I prefer coconut butter to other fats, it’s one of the healthies and it blends in so nice with the mixture πŸ™‚
      That’s true, we all start figuring out where we will spend New Year’s Eve months before! But it’s just a good reason to spend some time with people you love and maybe go to a party :). You are a bit pressured to have the best night of the year on New Year’s Eve πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

