white chocolate decorations

Vegan Choco-nutty Squares

Kitchen time, Uncategorized

chocolate cake

Hello again after a short holiday break! Hope you had a great time filled with hugs:). My holidays were filled with love, sunshine, laughter and, of course, good food. No matter how busy you are, you always find time to meet with your friends and family and spend some lovely hours with them. Oh, and there are gifts.

white and dark chocolate decoratons

I like making gifts, buying gifts, wrapping gifts, giving gifts and as we all do, receiving gifts. This year I made most of the gifts for my roommates, relatives and even for my mum’s coworkers. I’ve made an enormous amount of granola and roasted nuts and packed it in homemade paper bags. Then I did some Christmas shopping, walking through the streets of warm and sunny Ljubljana, carelessly spending too much time in cute hipster stores, buying everything from beautiful underwear to teddy bears, all in all everything I would feel guilty buying for myself.

making cake

After these festive “obligations” were over, I didn’t think I would have energy to do anything else than sit and eat. Luckily, I was wrong. One morning, I woke up with a huge craving to make coconut muffins. I couldn’t study. I couldn’t read, I couldn’t be lazy and do nothing! So I started baking. And after I made the mixture, I found out I left my muffin tray at my friend’s house and so I had to think of something else and use a baking tray which was in a reasonable distance (in my kitchen). So I had to use a usual cake tray and muffins became cake and later squares. And the only thing I had in my kitchen and could be used for a filling was instant chocolate pudding. I used smaller amount of milk than I should and I got a thick pudding a.k.a cake filling a.k.a something delicious to eat while baking. And this cake just called for decorations, so I used a lot of dark and white chocolate for the topping. Perfect for chocolate addicts. If you are one of them, I’m sure you will want to try out this recipe:

cake mixture

1 1/2 cup of spelt flour
2/3 cup of coconut flour
1 tsp of baking powder
1 tsp of baking soda

1 cup of coconut milk
1/3 cup of melted coconut butter
1 tbsp of molasses
3 tbsp of raw brown sugar
1 tbsp of vanilla sugar
1/3 cup of agave syrup

3 tbsp of cocoa

1 bag of instant chocolate pudding (amount you usually need for 2 cups of pudding)
1 cup of coconut milk

2/3 cup of chopped vegan dark chocolate
A bit of chopped vegan white chocolate

making chocolate coconut cake

Separately mix dry and wet ingredients and then combine them all together. Pour half of the mixture in a tray and add cocoa to the rest of the mixture. Stir thoroughly and pour rest of the mixture in the tray. So you get the two different layers. Bake for half an hour at 175C. Meanwhile, make the pudding according to the instructions, but reducing the amount of milk to 1 cup. After the cake has cooled, cut it in two parts and evenly pour pudding on the bottom half of the cake. After the pudding has cooled, put the other half of the cake on the top. Cover everything in melted dark chocolate and then make lines of melted white chocolate. Than use a spoon to make lines vertical to the white chocolate and you will get a wavy pattern.

chocolate coconut cake

Make small squares and eat with your family and friends. And enjoy the last days of this year 🙂

white chocolate decorations

Je t’embrasse,

Pia

Follow my blog with Bloglovin15554674158_bf145cbb9d

9 thoughts on “Vegan Choco-nutty Squares

Leave a Reply

