Vegan christmas cake

Sweet tooth’s Vegan Carrot Cake

Kitchen time

Vegan Carrot Chocolate Cake

Today is the first day of December, so it seemed appropriate to post a more festive-themed recipe. On the last day of November (or better put, night) I decided to bake a carrot cake/bread/yummy dessert, which included spices, typical for December and Christmas. Just so I could start this December with a true December breakfast. And what would a sweet tooth like me (and most of my family and friends, who I also have to keep in mind:)) do without some good old chocolate?

The procedure of making up the recipe was same as always: making a huge mess in the kitchen, covering the kitchen counter with flour, deciding at the last moment if it needs more chocolate, running to my grandma’s kitchen to see if she has some ingredients I thought I just had to put in the recipe (even though the food usually turns out pretty yummy, even without the ”at-the-moment-crucial ingredient”), trying not to trip over my dog, lying on the kitchen carpet, forgetting to turn on the oven and thinking how lucky I am that this oven heats up pretty fast. And adding more flour or fluids because the whole mix always looks a bit to thick or fluid. Until I decide I should stop complicating and bake the thing to see if it even tastes good. I could tell you about a million more kitchen incidents of a clumsy girl like me. But I think it’s better to tell you about the recipe. You can make one medium size loaf using the following ingredients.

wpid-2014-11-30-09.55.59-1.jpg.jpeg

 

1 1/2 cup of wholewheat spelt flour
1 cup of spelt flour
2 tsp of baking powder
1 tsp of baking soda
2 tsp of cinnamon
1 tsp of allspice
1 tsp of nutmeg
1 tap of ginger
1/2 cup of chopped hazelnuts
1/3 cup of chopped dark chocolate
1/3 cup of unsweetened cocoa

1/2 cup of melted coconut butter
3/4 cup of rice milk
1 cup of unrefined sugar
1 tbsp of organic vanilla sugar
1/2 cup of agave syrup
2 cups of grated carrot

Toppings:
3 tbsp of chopped hazelnuts
and a bit of melted coconut butter, mixed with approximately 8 pieces of chocolate for the icing.

wpid-2014-11-30-09.56.04-1.jpg.jpeg

The procedure is the same as in most of my recipes. Mix the wet and the dry ingredients separately, combine them and stir thoroughly. Pour into a bread baking tray, sprinkle the hazelnuts on top and put it in the oven. Bake for 45 minutes at 170°C and at 150°C for fifteen minutes. The baking time depends on the oven. so you may have to bake for 10 minute more or less. Mix the coconut butter and chocolate pieces above hot water to make the icing. Pour it over the cake.

wpid-2014-11-30-09.56.02-2.jpg.jpeg

How do your kitchen experiments look like? Am I the only one who spends more time cleaning than making the dish :)?

Je t’embrasse,

Pia

15554674158_bf145cbb9d

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

P.s. Have a lovely December!

Link up your recipe of the week
5 thoughts on “Sweet tooth’s Vegan Carrot Cake

  1. I love carrot cake but I’ve never tried making it with spelt flour. Definitely going to try this. Thanks for joining in with #recipeoftheweek

    Like

Leave a Reply

