Not Just Another Granola Recipe

Kitchen time
Granola and chia pudding
After posting A LOT of granola recipes, I decided to dedicate a post to another aspect of my favorite breakfast. Because granola just isn’t breakfast without something to mix it in. So I gathered some tested combinations, some by me and some by my friends, which look and taste absolutely delicious.

I used to skip breakfast all the time. I found sleeping for extra 15 minutes a lot more important than starting your day with some food that gives you energy. A usually grabbed a cup of coffee to go which filled my stomach until I had a break of half an hour off in which I bought my first meal … and that could happen at 12 a.m. or even 2 p.m. And I was okay … as long as I had my beloved sweet coffee. More important than food of course ;). But then I got into my twenties and ”live got more serious”. I started to think that coffee on an empty stomach isn’t really good for your health and that sleep is more important than going to every party each week. I mean, it is fun while you are partying but getting out of bed after two hours of sleep just calls for a liter of coffee and let’s be honest, no matter how much caffeine you get in your system you still fell the lack of sleep and just want to crawl in your bed and never come out in the middle of the afternoon.

wpid-2014-11-20-10.54.41-2.jpg.jpeg

Yep, exactly like this ๐Ÿ™‚

So I started going to parties and also studying at night only when I knew I don’t have to go anywhere in the morning and I can sleep for as long as I want. And I started eating breakfast instead of drinking my emergency cup of coffee, which led to more energy through the day and I also felt a lot better, no matter how much work I had. It took quite a while to get used to such rhythm and I still have trouble with forcing myself to go in bed around or before midnight, and not eating after eight because there is no chance I can eat breakfast if I do. And so I turned my favorite meal from midnight pizza to healthy breakfast. This change let me to making my own granola, because I never really liked the store bought, there was always something wrong with them: the taste or the price. And students can be really creative when it comes to saving money ๐Ÿ˜€

And here are some of the best tasting and pest looking ideas.

Granola combinations

Put three spoons of chia seeds into coconut milk, mix and leave in the fridge overnight. Mix again in the morning and enjoy the pudding ๐Ÿ™‚

Granola with fruit

This is a version by my friend Barbara, another huge breakfast lover. The recipe is really simple, you just pour in the yogurt and add banana slices.

Granola and chocolate pudding

More decadent version with chocolate soy pudding. Like eating cake for breakfast.

wpid-2014-11-23-10.49.40-2.jpg.jpeg

And one perfect for autumn and winter: warm rice/soy/kamut/(insert the name of your favorite kind of milk) with cinnamon.

But I really cant get out of my skin, so for the end, here is another granola recipe, I think the best one till now. Even my mum, who never eats cereal kept grabbingย a bite or two from the jar.

1 cup of rolled oats
1 cup of spelt flakes
1/2 cup of unsweetened coconut flakes
1/2 cup of coconut chips
1/2 cup of vegan chocolate (I used mint chocolate Plamil)
1 tbsp of vanilla sugar
2 tbsp of ciha seeds
2 tbsp of goji berries
2 tbsp of flax seeds
1/3 cup of melted coconut butter
1/3 cup of agave syrup
1/3 cup of water

Mix the wet and the dry ingredients separately and then combine them all together. Spread them on a tray, covered with baking paper and put them in the oven. Bake for 30 minutes at 150ยฐC, turn them around and bake for another 30 minutes. Then lower the temperature on 120ยฐC and leave them in the oven for approximately 15 minutes, maybe 5-10 less or more.

Je t’embrasse,

Pia

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

wpid-2014-11-23-10.33.14-1.jpg.jpeg

2 thoughts on “Not Just Another Granola Recipe

  1. When you discover the benefits of breakfast you just can’t skip it. When I go to sleep, I can’t wait for breakfast ๐Ÿ˜€ that is the one thing the gets me out of bed in no time ๐Ÿ˜€ About the granola I completely agree, this is the best I have ever eaten! Mint chocolate and coconut is a perfect combination. Thank you again for the bag of deliciousness! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

Leave a Reply

