Raw vegan chocolate truffles in the making

Guilt-free Raw Chocolate Truffles

Kitchen time, Uncategorized

wpid-2014-11-18-11.42.44-1.jpg.jpeg

Finally, it happened to me to. All the people around me were getting sick, catching cold and having fever, but I usually get through this seasonal diseases without even needing a handkerchief. But this time I caught cold, got high fever and was generally feeling like s**t, so I had to stay inside for a few days. And try telling that to my hyperactive personality! After spending the morning eating, watching movies and reading magazines, I just had to do something. So I decided to experiment with raw ”baking” or more appropriate, dessert making :).

I’ve bought my first raw baking book last week, Rawsome Vegan Baking, to be precise, and I tried one recipe out of it over the weekend, but it turned out so good that the food disappeared before I was able to take photos! So I’ll write about that one when I repeat it and hurry up with taking pictures :). And there was a useful chapter about raw food basics which I also found on here site. It has given me an insight what I actually need for making raw desserts, because I’ve tried a few recipes before, but I never realized how many options do you have.

wpid-2014-11-18-11.42.49-1.jpg.jpeg

But there’s a twist! I forgot the book at my parents house! So what to do now? Improvise! I read the raw food basics, now I have to do something you make up yourself! Actually, all of the ingredients listed on the recipe below are the only ones I had in my apartment, appropriate for raw baking. No coconut oil, no fruit, no raisins, cashews … and I wanted to stick to my plan and not go out unless I really had to. And the bag of dates was opened for so long it was better to use them and throw it away if nothing good would come out of it, than leave them in the cupboard. My funny philosophy. I think it was a good choice, because I made approximately 30 truffles and they were all gone in one day. Okay, one afternoon, but we had some visitors and there are four dessert-loving people in our apartment. Good thing my roommate brought a box of cookies, made by her grandma, otherwise they would be gone in an hour 😀

wpid-2014-11-18-11.42.46-1.jpg.jpeg

And here is the recipe:

1 cup of dates (soaked in water for about half an hour)
1/2 cup of hazelnuts (soaked in water for three to four hours, together with hemp seeds)
2 tbsp of hemp seeds
3 tbsp of agave syrup
1/4 cup of water
1 tbsp of chia seeds
2 tbsp of unsweetened cacao
1 tbsp of maca powder
2 tbsp of goji berries

shredded unsweetened coconut

wpid-2014-11-18-11.42.48-1.jpg.jpeg

Drain the dates and the hazelnut/hemp seed mixture. First you need to blend the hazelnuts and hemp seeds, put them in a food processor for one or two minutes, then add dates and again, blend until you get a bit sticky but thick mixture. Add other ingredients and mix again until all of the ingredients are blend together. Place the mixture in a fridge for an hour. When you see the mixture has hardened, shape small balls and roll them in coconut. Put them in the fridge for another hour and then they are ready to eat. Take pictures fast, they tend to disappear immediately 🙂

I hope these will have a healing effect 😀 How do you spend grey, rainy days when you are stuck inside?

wpid-2014-11-18-11.42.43-1.jpg.jpeg

Je t’embrasse,

Pia

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Link up your recipe of the week
13 thoughts on “Guilt-free Raw Chocolate Truffles

  1. I haven’t had a cold in years, but I got one this year, complete with fever. Love the recipe.

    I usually prefer “grey” but I don’t have a grammatical justification for it. I think I might use “gray” to indicate a dark shade and grey for a lighter, prettier shade.

    Like

    1. It’s a strange year I guess, I hope the cold didn’t last long. And thanks for stopping by!
      I have never actually thought about the difference between grey and gray, as I’ve learnt English as a second language, but I find this really interesting. Thanks for the comparison 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

