chocolate cookie crumble muffin

Nostalgic Nutella Muffins

Kitchen time

chocolate nutella muffins

What do you do when you have one hour free in your day and you just don’t feel like doing anything college or work connected? Any normal person would probably watch TV or spend an hour on Facebook, read a good magazine of a book. And I thought: Oh, one hour! Just the right amount of time to bake some muffins. Well, it seems I have some chocolate related issues …

cutting chocolate

And those feelings aren’t just: ”I WANT chocolate! I NEED chocolate! Give me chocolate! Omnomnom!” Okay, I confess, sometimes they are but I can keep that feelings under control. The true problem is more baking related. I can’t let a week go by without baking a dessert or two (or three :)). And the worst thing is, I don’t bake stuff so I would have something to eat through week, I usually end up eating only one or maybe two pieces and that’s it, I never want to keep the whole thing for myself (even in the worst PMS days!). Most of the muffins/pieces of cakes or pies/cupcakes/brownies/cookies end up in other people stomachs and they usually (and luckily) don’t complain about that. There’s nothing wrong with feeding the people I love, right? I think they are secretly running or doing some kind of exercise, as I don’t see them getting fatter :).

wpid-wp-1415920402475.jpeg

And so I keep on baking and searching for delicious combinations. Even if I don’t have the time to re-polish my nails before going to the theatre, leaving only some sad remains and spots of what used to be a beautiful pearl nail polish. And my boyfriend has to take the muffins out of the oven because I’m late for the bus. Not based on true events of course ;).

So what did I bake this week? Here is a quick and simple recipe for anyone who usually doesn’t have a lot of time, but loves baking.

1 cup of whole wheat flour
1/2 cup of white flour
1 tbsp of cinnamon
1 tbsp of baking powder
1/3 cup of chopped dark chocolate

3 tbsp of raw unrefined sugar
1 tbsp of organic vanilla sugar
2 tbsp of nutella
2 tbsp of coconut oil
1 1/3 cup of rice milk

cookie crumbles (feeling nostalgic, I used Plazma, the kind of cookies you use in tiramisu)
nutella (or any other chocolate spread … but again, nostalgia)

wpid-wp-1415920606508.jpeg

Mix the first part of the ingredients in one bowl and the second part in the other. Put the second bowl above boiling water so the ingredients blend together and then pour them into the dry ones. Stir thoroughly. Fill half of the models and then sprinkle the cookie crumbles as seen on the photo. Add a spoon of chocolate spread or a piece of chocolate and fill the paper models to the top. Decorate it with cookie crumbles and chocolate (yes, that’s a lot of cookie crumbles and chocolate, but definitely worth the few extra calories :)). Bake at 180°c for 25 minutes and leave them to cool.

wpid-wp-1415917642272.jpeg

I caught the show on time, my boyfriend didn’t burn the muffins and when I came home, two of them were already gone! I guess that’s a new method of finding out if they have been in the oven long enough:). After one day, they are only two left and the others were delivered to my trusty muffin testers.

And while I’m writing this post, I can’t stop thinking: I seriously have to do something about that nail polish …

Je t’embrasse,

Pia

chocolate cookie crumble muffin

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Link up your recipe of the week
6 thoughts on “Nostalgic Nutella Muffins

    1. Thank you for stopping by!

      I loved your blog and the photos are just gorgeous! I agree, biscotti are the best thing to eat while drinking coffee or tea. And your recipe sounds delicious:)

      Oh, and the idea about blogger’s dozen is absolutely amazing … it gives the bloggers a chance to introduce themselves and the readers an opportunity to find great blogs!

      Enjoy your weekend! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

