Getting ready for baking

Gingerlicious Hazelnut Granola

Kitchen time, Uncategorized

Introducing my alter ego: The Squirrel 

wpid-wp-1415710454216.jpeg
My boyfriend says I eat like a squirrel. And I can’t say that thought isn’t based on true events. He always has a box or two of roasted hazelnuts his grandma regularly sends to him, and whenever I visit, the box magically gets emptier. As a true squirrel, I decided that I won’t eat all at once as I usually do, but I’ll make something out of them to save them for the winter (or at least for one week:)). And what would I do without my favorite breakfast, my beloved granola.

wpid-wp-1415710453996.jpeg

I know I have posted a bunch of granola recipes lately, but I just had to write about this one because I had to improvise a lot, as I didn’t have the same ingredients as I do at home. The result was fortunately yummy, but the taste was quite different, I just can’t believe how good maple syrup tastes in granola (because I’m one of those weird people who find maple syrup and pancakes really plain and just…meh :)). Some of the granola accidentally got missing while I was waiting for it to cool, as we kept walking by and stopping to have a bite, to see if this batch was as good as the previous ones :). And you know, that grey rainy days when you are at home for the whole day and you go to the kitchen every half hour to eat something. Yep, it was one of those days :). Luckily, I made enough for my “weekly stash”.

wpid-wp-1415710454490.jpeg

2 cups of rolled organic oats
1/2 cup of chopped hazelnuts
1/3 cup of walnuts
1/3 cup of mixed nuts (I usually use student food and I use cashews, peanuts, brazilian nuts and almonds)
1/2 cup of dried cranberries
1/2 cup of chopped vegan dark chocolate with ginger (I used Plamil’s)
1 tbsp of organic vanilla sugar

Spicy cocoa mix:
3 tbsp of cocoa
1 tbsp of cinnamon
1 tsp of allspice
1 tsp of ginger
1 tsp of nutmeg
And approximately 5 cloves (those little spices you can use for mulled wine, I hope that’s the right English expression)

1/3 cup of maple syrup
3 tbsp of water
3 tbsp of olive oil

wpid-wp-1415710454342.jpeg

Mix the first bunch of ingredients and add the spice mix. Then just pour the wet ingredients over the dry ones and that’s actually all. You spread the mixture over the baking paper and bake it for 30 minutes at 150°C, turn it around and bake for 15 minutes at 150°C and 15 minutes at 120°C. Enjoy it with warm rice milk with cinnamon or overnight chia pudding.

wpid-wp-1415710454000.jpeg

So I have a question for you: Has anyone ever compared you to an animal when it comes to your eating habits :)?

Je t’embrasse,

Pia

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Link up your recipe of the week
One thought on “Gingerlicious Hazelnut Granola

Leave a Reply

