granola with cranberries

Chocolate Chunky Granola

Kitchen time, Uncategorized

wpid-wp-1415227065863.jpeg

I got spoiled. Really spoiled. I make my own granola or I don’t eat granola. Simple as that. After a week of abstinence I had to make some more, and I decided to make a more chocolate-fruity version this time. I have a huge chocolate addiction, as you can clearly see if you take a quick look at most of my recipes. I accepted this addiction and made it a part of me, it is impossible to get rid of it 🙂 I just try to keep the chocolate versions more healthy. After all, it is proven that the unsweetened, more pure kinds of chocolate are good for you, a fact I keep repeating myself after I take a piece of that delicious 99% dark chocolate from the drawer. And so chocolate (or to be precise, cocoa) sneaked into my granola recipe in a bigger amount than ever. After having this granola for breakfast, I must say it was a great idea, some chocolate in the morning makes me a lot less grumpy!

wpid-wp-1415227066040.jpeg

And there’s aronia syrup. My grandma made a winter stash of different syrups, from more fruity ones to mint and elder tastes. And this year, she didn’t use the usual refined sugar, but the raw, unrefined version. So I just couldn’t say no when she asked me if I want to take some to my apartment. But first I had to test it and this recipe seemed like the perfect opportunity. I think the small amount added quite a lot of taste, and now I have to try the other ones soon.

wpid-wp-1415227066031.jpeg

The recipe goes like this. you need:

2 cups of rolled oats
2/3 cups of mixed nuts (almonds, cashews …)
1/4 cup of unsweetened cocoa
1 tbsp of sesame seeds
1 tbsp of flax seeds
1 tbsp of chia seeds
2 tsp of cinnamon
1 tsp of nutmeg
a dash of allspice
a dash of ginger
2/3 cup of dried cranberries
1 bag of organic vanilla sugar (approximately one tbsp)

1/4 cup of hemp oil
1/3 cup of agave syrup
1/4 cup of aronia syrup
1/4 cup of water

wpid-wp-1415227066637.jpeg

Mix together the dry and the wet ingredients, then pour the wet ones over the dry ones and stir thoroughly. Spread it across a tray, covered with baking paper and bake at 150°C for half an hour without turning it around. Then turn it around, trying to keep some chunks together and bake it for another 10 minutes 150°C and 10 minutes at 120°C. Then turn it around a bit and leave it for another 10-15 minutes at 120°C. The baking time really depends on the amount so just watch out they don’t get over baked, but wait until they have ”dried” in the oven. Leave it to cool and then save it in a clean, dry place

wpid-wp-1415258636746.jpeg

I’ve made chia pudding to go along with it! Just mix 2-3 tbsp of chia seeds into a non-diary milk and leave it overnight, you’ll get an interesting result, I couldn’t believe how pudding like this mixture became. How do you like to prepare granola? Do you eat it with milk, yogurt or just grab the jar and eat the chunks :)?

Je t’embrasse,

Pia

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

4 thoughts on “Chocolate Chunky Granola

  1. I really really have to try this! 😀 I’ve stoped buying them in the store because it contains too much sugar. I have to make my own 🙂 Also that chia pudding sounds very interesting 😀

    Like

    1. I agree, most of cereals you buy in a store contain too much sugar and if you find some that don’t, they are usually really expensive. Let me know if you like the recipe! 🙂
      One funny thing about chia pudding – if you make it with chocolate milk it looks just like Čokolino 😀

      Like

  2. Ooo this looks delicious and I couldn’t agree more, chocolate certainly makes me in a better mood in the morning! In fact now you have put the thought in my head I need some…but I too like the dark stuff, telling myself it is good for me! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

