Oreo Chocolate Muffins

Oreo Muffins

Kitchen time, Uncategorized

wpid-wp-1414194129991.jpeg

Baking every week has really become a habit for me. I just can let a week go by without mixing something in the kitchen and trying out something new, hoping I will get something edible (or hopefully very tasty) out of it. I think that my family and friends like that habit 🙂 So I couldn’t let the week go by without baking something. But what?

Well, I have recently found out that Oreo cookies are vegan! Happy day! I mean, everybody loves Oreo :). And what is another food that (probably) everybody loves? Muffins! So I decided to join them to bake some extra yummy dessert. First, I dug up an old muffin recipe, one I used over and over in high school and then forgot about it when I moved out and went to college. I loved the pure chocolate taste and interesting texture, as they didn’t include butter and eggs. Maybe I was drawn to the vegan side before I realized it 🙂 So I called my mum and asked her to find a small piece of paper, torn out from a notebook, with a barely readable recipe written on it. Luckily, she found it and I could still (kind of) understand the instructions. Okay, enough talking, let’s get to the baking!

wpid-wp-1414194129736.jpeg

You’ll need:
1 3/4 cup of spelt flour
3/4 cup of raw brown sugar
1/3 cup of unsweetened cocoa
2 tsp of baking powder
1 tsp of baking soda
2 tbs of organic vanilla sugar

3/4 cup of rice milk
3/4 cup of soy pudding

Oreo cookies

wpid-wp-1414273362992.jpeg

First, mix together the dry ingredients. Secondly, combine the milk and the pudding, and mix everything together until the ingredients are evenly distributed. When pouring the mix into the papers, fill only half of it, add one whole Oreo cookie (don’t worry, it won’t sink) and then fill the baking paper to the top. I used Oreo to decorate the top, but I also liked the ”Surprise version” , where the only Oreo is inside the muffin.

And what is your favorite recipe from your high school years?

Je t’embrasse,

Pia

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

P.s. And here are some nutritional facts:) not bad for a muffin!

Calories 148.5

Total Fat 4.8 g
…Saturated 0.7 g
…Polyunsaturated 1.2 g
…Monounsaturated 1.4 g

Cholesterol 0.0 mg
Sodium 368.3 mg
Potassium 17.6 mg

Total Carbohydrate 24.5 g
… Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
… Sugars 4.9 g

Protein 3.0 g

Calcium 9.2 %
Iron 8.0 %

wpid-wp-1414194130000.jpeg

2 thoughts on “Oreo Muffins

Leave a Reply

