Spicy Veggie Wraps

Kitchen time

wpid-wp-1412509141423.jpeg

After posting mostly breakfast and dessert recipes, I have decided to publish one more appropriate for lunch and dinner. Those two meals consist out of muffins or cupcakes only few times a year so I have to make something else for the other days:) This is one of my favorite recipes, not only because I can clean the kitchen up while the wraps are baking in the oven but also because they are good. I mean really good. The whole grain crust, the veggie spicy sauce on the inside and my guilty pleasure – mayonnaise. I recently found a vegan version and I can’t wait to try it, but when I was eating these wraps and making pictures I had only the usual one in the fridge and oh well, I couldn’t resist it:)

wpid-wp-1412509140987.jpeg

This veggie wraps recipe went through many stages. First I used puffed pastry, some bell peppers, zucchini and cheese, wrapped everything up and baked it. Then I added some different veggies, tried some different pastry, switched cheese for tofu, added some sauce … it’s a flexible recipe and you can easily change it and include all of your favorite veggies, salsas and so on:) I think this mixture in the recipe is the best one so far. It includes wholewheat pastry, some mexican salsa … Best to write down the recipe (for 3 wraps) :)! You’ll need:

150 g of wholewheat filo pastry (three 50 g layers)
1 tbsp of olive oil
1 red bell pepper
1 orange bell pepper
1 green bell pepper
1 small zucchini
1 cup of pre-cooked broccoli
1/2 cup of corn
2/3 cup of tomato pieces
2/3 cup of chunky salsa dip (I used Poco Loco Medium Mexicana Dip)
2 tsp of oregano
1 tsp of basil
1 tsp of curry
a dash of turmeric
a dash of chili and salt mixture

wpid-wp-1412509140967.jpeg

wpid-wp-1412509140989.jpeg

First, cut the bell peppers and zucchini in small pieces. Pour 1 tbsp of olive oil on the pan and add zucchini pieces, fry at medium to high temperature. Add bell peppers after 5 minutes and broil at medium temperature for 15 more minutes. Meanwhile, cook broccoli in boiling water (it usually takes me 4 minutes). Drain the water and add broccoli, along with corn, to the veggie mixture. After 2-3 minutes, add salsa and tomato pieces and wait for 2-3 more minutes, meanwhile add spices. Take the pan from the stove and wait for 5 minutes for the veggie mixture to cool off a bit.

wpid-wp-1412509141000.jpeg

Cover the tray with baking paper and take three 50 g filo pastry layers. Distribute the mixture evenly between three layers, making rectangle piles on each layer. Fold the pastry as on the picture, so you prevent the sauce from pouring out. Bake it in the oven for 20-30 minutes at 180°C.  I’m perfectly capable of eating all three wraps for lunch and dinner (yes, they stay good for the whole day:)) but everything tastes better when you have company – I think three wraps are enough for two really hungry or three a bit less hungry people 🙂 You can add some ketchup or mayonnaise or any other dipping sauce you like.

wpid-wp-1412509141387.jpeg

Let me know if you tried the recipe and if you decide to experiment with adding different ingredients, I would love try out some different versions 🙂

Je t’embrasse,

Pia
wpid-wp-1412509141524.jpeg

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Link up your recipe of the week
Leave a Reply

