granola with cranberries

Autumn Colored Granola

Kitchen time, Uncategorized

wpid-2014-09-27-09.18.38-1.jpg.jpeg

I just got home from Paris yesterday, it was an amazing trip (except getting up at 4 a.m. to catch the flight home:)) and it felt strange that for the first day in a week, I didn’t walk for the whole day through the beautiful, artsy streets, admire paintings made by my favorite artists, smell the croissants behind every corner and enjoy free entry in almost every museum (free student entry, yeeey:)). But all in all, it is nice to get home and see your family, wanting to hear everything about the trip, see the pictures and get the souvenirs:). What isn’t so nice is looking at the kitchen shelf after the long way home and discovering that you are out of cereals – no granola, no muesli … only a bag of plain oats. Knowing I will really, really want to eat granola for breakfast (you can get tired of croissants and baguettes after one week:)) I decided to make my own.

wpid-2014-09-27-09.19.02-1.jpg.jpeg

I’ve been wanting to make my own granola for a while now, but I wanted to eat all of the store-bought I had at home before, so this was the ideal time. Feeling to lazy to go to the store, I just looked around the kitchen to see what I already have. Felling experimental enough, that I wanted to mix something up without recipe (and knowing that it would be hard to find one that included only the stuff I had at home). And it turned out pretty good, the whole kitchen had a nice scent and I had a delicious breakfast this morning. I have a feeling I will soon have to make some new:)

wpid-2014-09-27-09.18.53-1.jpg.jpeg

Here is the quick and simple recipe for a morning treat. You need:

1 cup of oats
2 tsp of flax seeds
2 tsp of hemp seeds
1 tsp of allspice
2 tsp of cinnamon
2 tbsp of coconut flakes
1 tbsp of unsweetened cacao powder
1 tbsp of chia seeds
1/4 cup of chopped hazelnuts
2 tbsp of cranberries
1 tbsp of goji berries

1/3 cup of hemp oil
1 tbsp of raw brown sugar
1 bag of organic vanilla sugar
3 tbsp of water

wpid-2014-09-27-09.18.56-1.jpg.jpeg

After mixing the top ingredients, mix the bottom four separately and add it to the dry ingredients mixture. Spread it over baking paper on a flat tray and bake it for 20 minutes at 150°C and 15 minutes at 120°C. Turn the mix around every ten minutes so it gets evenly baked. After cooling, store it in a dry place.

So this morning, I had a delicious breakfast, made from my first homemade granola and some warm rice milk. Feels like autumn is finally here:) And what is your favorite breakfast, for when the days start getting colder?

Je t’embrasse,

Pia

wpid-2014-09-27-09.18.42-1.jpg.jpeg

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Link up your recipe of the week
2 thoughts on “Autumn Colored Granola

Leave a Reply

