Chocolate Covered Cupcakes

Kitchen time

wpid-2014-08-28-04.25.54-1.jpg.jpeg

 

I’m a chocoholic, from a chocoholic family. I have a boyfriend, who is an even bigger chocoholic than I am, and, as you have probably guessed, most of my friends are incurable chocoholics. So whenever I bake something, there is one crucial ingredient I have to include, otherwise the plate would stay full. Lately I’ve been trying to find some healthy-ish and vegan recipes, as I discovered that refined sugar and the most common white wheat flour have an awful effect on my skin and general feeling, and I almost completely stopped drinking milk (unless that is the only one a coffee place I visit has, I hate espresso :))

So I was sitting on my boyfriend’s couch, looking for some recipes and I stumbled upon this one. I was in the mood for some late night baking so I looked which ingredients (or which similar ingredients) I have and I started mixing stuff up. As I didn’t have all of the ingredients I had to change it and, feeling experimental, added some new ingredients. After the changes, I was really happy that cupcakes were properly baked, as I wasn’t completely sure how the changes will effect the baking process. But in the end, I got some (baked) huge and puffy cupcakes. And what do you need to make chocoholic-approved cupcakes?

wpid-2014-08-28-12.45.30-1.jpg.jpeg          wpid-2014-08-28-04.25.51-1.jpg.jpeg

First you stir:

3 cups of whole-wheat flour
1 tsp of baking powder
1 tsp of baking soda
1 cup of unsweetened cocoa
a dash or two (or three) of cinnamon, nutmeg and pimento

And then you need to get one more bowl dirty:) Stir:
a half of cup of olive or coconut oil
1 1/2 cup of soy milk (add more if the mass is still too thick)
1 cup of brown sugar
1 bag of vanilla sugar
a bit of agave syrup if you want to make the cupcakes sweeter
and 1 big (shredded or cut in small squares) zucchini
 
Slowly add the dry ingredients to previously stirred wet ones. Pour the mixture into the models (I found really cute red dotted ones and I’m thinking about buying them in every colour before they sell them all). And now the fun begins – more chocolate!:)
You need around:
1 cup of vegan ginger chocolate
1/2 cup of usual dark vegan chocolate
Some almonds and walnuts
 
wpid-2014-08-28-12.45.24-1.jpg.jpeg
 
I never make every cupcake identical. I decorated some with ginger chocolate, some with the dark one, some with the mixture of both and added some nuts on the second plate I baked. So basically you can decorate them with anything you want! Just please, use ginger chocolate, it is delicious 🙂
 
Fill the models almost to the top, that way the cupcakes will get the cute shape. And bake it for 25 minutes at 180°c and wait until they cool off.
 
wpid-2014-08-27-09.46.39-1.jpg.jpeg

Je t’embrasse,

Pia

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

wpid-2014-08-29-05.59.39-1.jpg.jpeg

wpid-2014-08-28-04.14.33-1.jpg.jpeg

4 thoughts on “Chocolate Covered Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

